Skip to main content
EGU Award Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

Awards & medals EGU awards & medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU awards & medals

Every year the EGU awards & medals programme recognises eminent scientists for their outstanding research contributions in the Earth, planetary and space sciences. In addition, it identifies the awardees as role models to foster the next generation of geoscientists.

The EGU awards & medals programme features the prestigious Union medals, which honour lifetime achievements or exceptional contributions to science, as well as Union awards, including the Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists. At the division level, the EGU awards numerous medals for active scientists as well as the Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards.

Recipients of the Alfred Wegener, Arthur Holmes and Jean Dominique Cassini medals receive an honorary (life) membership in addition to their medals. Other awardees, including of the Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists, Union Service and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientists, and medallists (Alexander von Humboldt and division) receive a complimentary membership for the year of their award.

Winners of EGU medals and awards can be nominated as EGU ambassadors. In this role, they are delegated to attend meetings hosted by other organisations and to offer special presentations and lectures labelled as EGU contributions.

The list of all EGU award and medal recipients is available in the past and present awardees section. For information on how to nominate scientists for EGU awards and medals, please check our nominations page and the guidelines for proposal and selection of candidates. Statistics are also available for medals awarded between 2014-2023 (PDF document, 1.0 MB).

List of all EGU awards & medals

Union medals

Union awards

Division medals

Pre-EGU era (before 2002)

The European Geosciences Union (EGU) was established by the merger of the European Union of Geosciences (EUG) and the European Geophysical Society (EGS) on 7 September 2002, with the final stages of this transition completed on 31 December 2003.