EGU logo

European Geosciences Union


EGU, the European Geosciences Union, is Europe’s premier geosciences union, dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in the Earth, planetary, and space sciences for the benefit of humanity, worldwide. It was established in September 2002 as a merger of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and the European Union of Geosciences (EUG), and has headquarters in Munich, Germany.

It is a non-profit international union of scientists with over 12,500 members from all over the world. Membership is open to individuals who are professionally engaged in or associated with geosciences and planetary and space sciences and related studies, including students and retired seniors.

The EGU has a current portfolio of 18 diverse scientific journals, which use an innovative open access format, and organises a number of topical meetings, and education and outreach activities. It also honours scientists with a number of awards and medals. The annual EGU General Assembly is the largest and most prominent European geosciences event, attracting over 11,800 scientists from all over the world each year. The meeting’s sessions cover a wide range of topics, including volcanology, planetary exploration, the Earth’s internal structure and atmosphere, climate, as well as energy and resources.

EGU at a glance


  • Annual General Assembly
    • More than 14,400 participants from over 100 countries in 2017
    • More than 17,000 presentations
      in 649 sessions in 2017
  • Topical meetings
  • Training schools & workshops
  • Conference series


  • 18 peer-reviewed open access journals
  • Over 21,000 authors from 107 countries in 2015
  • Over 3,000 papers (more than 48,000 pages) published in 2015
  • Free access to all articles
  • Interactive public peer-review & discussion
  • Signatory of the Berlin Declaration on Open Access 2003

Outreach & media

  • EGU newsletter, monthly information service for members
  • Imaggeo, the open access geosciences image repository
  • GIFT – Geosciences Information For Teachers
  • Media conferences
  • Press releases
  • Blog and social media networking

General contact

EGU Executive Office

Philippe Courtial
Luisenstr. 37
80333 Munich

EGU Finance Office

5, rue René Descartes
67084 Strasbourg Cedex

EGU Press & Media

Bárbara Ferreira
Luisenstr. 37
80333 Munich