EGU General Assembly 2019 Awards Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news It’s as easy as 1-2-3! Nominate candidates for EGU awards and medals by 30 June

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

It’s as easy as 1-2-3! Nominate candidates for EGU awards and medals by 30 June

27 May 2020

Each year the EGU honours individuals for their significant contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. Union members are kindly asked to submit their nominations for all EGU 2021 medals and awards, including the recently established Angela Croome and Katia and Maurice Krafft awards, by 30 June 2020.

Detailed information on the selection process and how to propose a candidate is available on the Awards & Medals section of the EGU website. Nominations for all medals and awards must be submitted via an online nomination form by 30 June.

Completing the nomination is a straightforward process involving three steps:

  1. Assemble the nomination package: this includes a one-page nomination letter plus brief supporting materials, which vary by award.
  2. Follow the checklist: carefully verify the person you’re nominating is eligible, that the nomination follows all awards guidelines and best practices, and that the package clearly explains why the candidate deserves this recognition.
  3. Submit the nomination by 30 June: after ensuring that all materials are in a single pdf file and comply with the length requirements, complete and submit the online nomination form.

To increase diversity among EGU awardees and medallists, we encourage Union members to consider gender, geographical and cultural balance when nominating outstanding Earth, planetary and space scientists at various career stages. The list of awards and medals bestowed by the Union and its divisions, as well as the names of the previous awardees, are available on the EGU website.

EGU is also accepting nominations for two awards established in 2019: the Katia and Maurice Krafft Award, for geoscience outreach and engagement, and the Angela Croome Award. This honour was established to recognise journalists working in the Earth, planetary and space sciences (non-EGU members can nominate for this award).

The 2021 awards and medals, which will be announced in October 2020, will be presented to their recipients at the EGU General Assembly 2021 (25–30 April) in Vienna. The winners of the 2020 awards and medals will also be celebrated during EGU 2021 due to the cancellation of the in-person meeting earlier this year as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.


Thomas Blunier
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Terri Cook
Head of Media, Communications and Outreach
EGU Office
Munich, Germany


Share this