Skip to main content

Awards & medals Christiaan Huygens Medal

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Christiaan Huygens Medal

The Christiaan Huygens Medal was established by the Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems Division to recognise significant contributions in fields within the scope of the division. The medal is awarded for an innovation, development or discovery that has had major impact in its field, or for a series of contributions, during an extended period, that has led to significant progress.

For information on how to nominate scientists for EGU awards and medals, please check our nominations page and the guidelines for proposal and selection of candidates.

Image of Christiaan Huygens Medal
The medal has been exclusively designed for the EGU by József Kótai.