Skip to main content
A few of last year's awardees pose with the EGU President and Vice-President at the EGU 2014 Awards Ceremony. (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news EGU announces 2015 awards and medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2015 awards and medals

13 October 2014

The EGU has named the 35 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Young Scientists Awards. These individuals, from both European and non-European countries, are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will receive their prizes at the EGU 2015 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 12–17 April. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Awards corresponding to the 2014 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2015 Union Medals and Awards:

Hubert Savenije Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Sergej Zilitinkevich Alfred Wegener Medal
Carlo Laj Arthur Holmes Medal
Jonathan I. Lunine Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Manuele Faccenda Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Katrin Schroeder Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Francesca Pianosi Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Jérémie Mouginot Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists

The following individuals will receive 2015 Division Medals:

Gregory Houseman Augustus Love Medal
Göran Ekström Beno Gutenberg Medal
Kristine M. Larson Christiaan Huygens Medal
Peter Janssen Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Robert L. Lysak Hannes Alfvén Medal
Nick van de Giesen Henry Darcy Medal
Wolfgang Schlager Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Diane McKnight John Dalton Medal
Sami Solanki Julius Bartels Medal
Daniel Schertzer Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Michiel van den Broeke Louis Agassiz Medal
Toshihiko Shimamoto Louis Néel Medal
Paul Valdes Milutin Milankovic Medal
Ingrid Kögel-Knabner Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Alfredo M. Lagmay Plinius Medal
Heather Viles Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
John C. Eichelberger Sergey Soloviev Medal
Evgueni B. Burov Stephan Mueller Medal
Geoffrey Blewitt Vening Meinesz Medal

The following individuals will receive 2015 Division Outstanding Young Scientist Awards:

Richard Davy Atmospheric Sciences (AS) Division
James Rae Biogeosciences (BG) Division
Jeremy D. Shakun Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Omar Bartoli Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology (GMPV) Division
Krzysztof Sośnica Geodesy (G) Division
Bertrand Bonfond Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Paulo Pereira Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Patrick Grunert Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP) Division

The EGU Awards Committee received 121 applications for the 2015 awards, with 19% of them nominating female scientists (17% of this year’s awardees are female). For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of poster awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2014 OSP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2015, please check the OSP page.


Alberto Montanari
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this