Skip to main content
A few of last year's awardees with the EGU President and Vice-President at the EGU 2016 Awards Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news EGU announces 2017 awards and medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2017 awards and medals

9 November 2016

The EGU has named the 47 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientists Awards. These individuals, from both European and non-European countries, are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will receive their prizes at the EGU 2017 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 23–28 April. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Awards corresponding to the 2016 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2017 Union Medals and Awards:

Johan Bouma Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Murugesu Sivapalan Alfred Wegener Medal
Jean-Pierre Brun Arthur Holmes Medal
Luciano Iess Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Federico Bianchi Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
João Duarte Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Yadong Sun Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Julia Thalmann Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Alberto Montanari Union Service Award

The following individuals will receive 2017 Division Medals:

Barry E. Parsons Augustus Love Medal
Hitoshi Kawakatsu Beno Gutenberg Medal
Riccardo Lanari Christiaan Huygens Medal
Lynne D. Talley Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Eric R. Priest Hannes Alfvén Medal
Denis-Didier Rousseau Hans Oeschger Medal
Paul Wignall Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Dani Or John Dalton Medal
Tuija I. Pulkkinen Julius Bartels Medal
Edward Ott Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Eric Rignot Louis Agassiz Medal
Christopher J. Spiers Louis Néel Medal
Axel Timmermann Milutin Milankovic Medal
John Tarduno Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Peter Smith Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Bruno Merz Plinius Medal
Ellen Wohl Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
D. Graham Pearson Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Augusto Neri Sergey Soloviev Medal
Cees Passchier Stephan Mueller Medal
Isabella Velicogna Vening Meinesz Medal
John M. C. Plane Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Jack J. Middelburg Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2017 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Michaela A. Dippold Biogeosciences (BG) Division
Francesco Muschitiello Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Ricarda Winkelmann Cryospheric Sciences (CR) Division
Marie Violay Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP) Division
Xingxing Li Geodesy (G) Division
Nicolas Flament Geodynamics (GD) Division
Fabio Tosti Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems (GI) Division
Dirk Scherler Geomorphology (GM) Division
Pierre Lanari Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology (GMPV) Division
Anne F. van Loon Hydrological Sciences (HS) Division
James E. Daniell Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Eleanor Frajka-Williams Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
Cedric Gillmann Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Elmer Ruigrok Seismology (SM) Division
Victoria Arcenegui Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division

The EGU Awards Committee received 233 nominations for the 2016 awards, with 21.9% of them nominating female scientists (about 23.4% of this year’s awardees are female). For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of poster awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSPP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2016 OSPP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2017, please check the OSPP page.


Özgür Karatekin
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this