Skip to main content
Some of last year's awardees with the EGU President and Vice-President at the EGU 2017 Awards Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news EGU announces 2018 awards and medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2018 awards and medals

9 October 2017

The EGU has named the 49 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientists Awards. These individuals, from both European and non-European countries, are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will receive their prizes at the EGU 2018 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 8–13 April. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Awards corresponding to the 2017 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2018 Union Medals and Awards:

Filippo Giorgi Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Meinrat O. Andreae Alfred Wegener Medal
A. M. Celâl Şengör Arthur Holmes Medal
Anja Schmidt Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Yoshihide Wada Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Mathieu Morlighem Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Zhonghua Yao Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists

The following individuals will receive 2018 Division Medals:

Edgar M. Parmentier Augustus Love Medal
Haruo Sato Beno Gutenberg Medal
Jothiram Vivekanandan Christiaan Huygens Medal
Bruno Bézard David Bates Medal
Rainer Feistel Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Eckart Marsch Hannes Alfvén Medal
Hubertus Fischer Hans Oeschger Medal
Alberto Montanari Henry Darcy Medal
Kerstin A. Lehnert Ian McHarg Medal
James L. Best Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Gabriel G. Katul John Dalton Medal
Ilya G. Usoskin Julius Bartels Medal
Timothy N. Palmer Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Frank Pattyn Louis Agassiz Medal
Harry W. Green II Louis Néel Medal
David A. Hodell Milutin Milankovic Medal
Mioara Mandea Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Yakov A. Pachepsky Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Hannah L. Cloke Plinius Medal
Todd A. Ehlers Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Andrew Putnis Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Yves Langevin Runcorn-Florensky Medal
Giuseppe De Natale Sergey Soloviev Medal
John P. Platt Stephan Mueller Medal
Markus Rothacher Vening Meinesz Medal
Pinhas Alpert Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Antje Boetius Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2018 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Claudia Mohr Atmospheric Sciences (AS) Division
Christo Buizert Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Marco M. Scuderi Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP) Division
Victor Vilarrasa Energy, Resources and the Environment (ERE) Division
Sara Bruni Geodesy (G) Division
Thibault Duretz Geodynamics (GD) Division
Giovanni Ludeno Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems (GI) Division
Liran Goren Geomorphology (GM) Division
Thomas Wahl Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Davide Faranda Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) Division
Jan D. Zika Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
Martin van Driel Seismology (SM) Division
Matthias Vanmaercke Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Natasha L. S. Jeffrey Solar-Terrestrial Sciences (ST) Division
Fabio Corbi Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS) Division

The EGU Awards Committee received 175 nominations for the 2018 awards, with 21.1% of them nominating female scientists (about 18.4% of this year’s awardees are female). For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of poster awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSPP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster and PICO presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2017 OSPP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSPP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2018, please check the OSPP page.


Harry W. Green II passed away a few weeks ago, after the Louis Néel Medal Committee had recommended him as a recipient. The EGU Council has decided to award him the medal posthumously at the 2018 EGU General Assembly.


Özgür Karatekin
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this