Skip to main content
EGU Award Ceremony at the EGU 2016 General Assembly (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news Nominate candidates for EGU awards and medals by 15 June

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Nominate candidates for EGU awards and medals by 15 June

8 March 2019

Every year, the EGU honours individuals for their contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. EGU members are kindly asked to submit their nominations for all EGU 2020 medals and awards, including the new Angela Croome Award and Katia and Maurice Krafft Award, by 15 June 2019.

Detailed information on the selection process and how to propose a candidate is available on the Awards & Medals section of the EGU website. Nominations for all the medals and awards must be submitted via an online nomination form by 15 June. Before submitting a nomination, please carefully check if the nomination and supporting documents satisfy the EGU requirements.

To increase diversity in the group of EGU awardees and medallists, we encourage the EGU membership to consider gender, geographical and cultural balance when nominating outstanding Earth, planetary and space scientists at various career stages.

The list of awards and medals bestowed by the Union and its divisions, as well as the previous awardees, is available on the EGU website. The list includes Union Medals for established scientists, Division Medals for active scientists, as well as division and Union-wide awards for early career scientists.

For the first time this year, we are accepting nominations for the new Katia and Maurice Krafft Award, for geoscience outreach and engagement, and for the Angela Croome Award, an honour established to recognise journalists working in the Earth, planetary and space sciences (non-EGU members can nominate for this award). We are also accepting nominations for the recently renamed Cryospheric Sciences Division Medal, the Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal, which was formerly known as Louis Agassiz Medal.

The 2020 awards and medals, to be announced in October 2019, will be presented to their recipients the following year, at the EGU General Assembly 2020 (3–8 May 2020) in Vienna. The winners of the 2019 awards and medals will be celebrated during this year’s General Assembly, at the EGU Award Ceremony taking place on Wednesday, 10 April, 17:30–20:00.


Özgür Karatekin
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this