Skip to main content
Some of last year's awardees with the EGU President and Vice-President at the EGU 2018 Awards Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

EGU news EGU announces 2019 awards and medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2019 awards and medals

17 October 2018

The EGU has named the 45 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientists Awards. These individuals, from both European and non-European countries, are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will receive their prizes at the EGU 2019 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 7–12 April. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Awards corresponding to the 2018 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2019 Union Medals and Awards:

Michael L. Bender Alfred Wegener Medal
Jean Braun Arthur Holmes Medal
Margaret G. Kivelson Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Amanda C. Maycock Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Marie Dumont Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Mathew Domeier Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Giulia Sofia Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists

The following individuals will receive 2019 Division Medals:

Anne Davaille Augustus Love Medal
Annie Souriau Beno Gutenberg Medal
Lev V. Eppelbaum Christiaan Huygens Medal
Anne-Marie Tréguier Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Daniel N. Baker Hannes Alfvén Medal
Edward J. Brook Hans Oeschger Medal
Petra Döll Henry Darcy Medal
Stefano Nativi Ian McHarg Medal
Isabel P. Montañez Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Günter Blöschl John Dalton Medal
Masatoshi Yamauchi Julius Bartels Medal
Shaun Lovejoy Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Andreas Kääb Louis Agassiz Medal
Chris Marone Louis Néel Medal
Jacques Laskar Milutin Milankovic Medal
Catherine Kissel Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Claire Chenu Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Philip J. Ward Plinius Medal
David L. Egholm Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Daniela Rubatto Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Tim Van Hoolst Runcorn-Florensky Medal
Kyoji Sassa Sergey Soloviev Medal
Serge Lallemand Stephan Mueller Medal
Tonie van Dam Vening Meinesz Medal
Johannes Lelieveld Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Kurt O. Konhauser Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2019 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Gabriele Messori Atmospheric Sciences (AS) Division
Benedikt Soja Geodesy (G) Division
Evangelos Moulas Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology (GMPV) Division
Serena Ceola Hydrological Sciences (HS) Division
Jadranka Šepić Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Peter Landschützer Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
John Carter Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Piero Poli Seismology (SM) Division
Christian Zeeden Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP) Division
Bahar S. Razavi Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Chao Xiong Solar-Terrestrial Sciences (ST) Division
Daniel Pastor-Galán Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS) Division

The EGU Awards Committee received 177 nominations for the 2019 awards, with 31.1% of them nominating female scientists (about 35.6% of this year’s awardees are female). These numbers represent a significant increase from last year, when 21.1% of nominations and 18.4% of EGU awards went to female scientists. For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of poster awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSPP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster and PICO presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2018 OSPP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSPP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2019, please check the OSPP page.


Özgür Karatekin
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this