Skip to main content
2013 Award Ceremony: Arne Richter awardees and their nominators

EGU news EGU announces 2014 awards and medals

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2014 awards and medals

14 October 2013

The EGU has named the 43 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Young Scientists Awards. These individuals, honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences, will receive their prizes at the EGU 2014 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 27 April – 02 May. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Awards corresponding to the 2013 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2014 Union Medals and Awards:

Pradeep Mujumdar Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Eric F. Wood Alfred Wegener Medal
Matthias Huss Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Noé Lugaz Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Peter K. Bijl Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Sebastian F. L. Watt Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
Kevin C. A. Burke Arthur Holmes Medal
Stamatios M. Krimigis Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Thomas Hofmann Union Service Award

The following individuals will receive 2014 Division Medals:

Shun-Ichiro Karato Augustus Love Medal
Gregory C. Beroza Beno Gutenberg Medal
François Forget David Bates Medal
Stephen M. Griffies Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Karl Schindler Hannes Alfvén Medal
Sherilyn C. Fritz Hans Oeschger Medal
Upmanu Lall Henry Darcy Medal
Isabella Premoli Silva Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Hoshin V. Gupta John Dalton Medal
Rumi Nakamura Julius Bartels Medal
Olivier Talagrand Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Dorthe Dahl-Jensen Louis Agassiz Medal
Ian Main Louis Néel Medal
Maureen E. Raymo Milutin Milankovic Medal
Rob Van der Voo Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Johan Six Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Hermann M. Fritz Plinius Medal
Pieter A. van der Beek Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Chris J. Hawkesworth Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Costas E. Synolakis Sergey Soloviev Medal
Claudio Faccenna Stephan Mueller Medal
Reinhard Dietrich Vening Meinesz Medal
Urs Baltensperger Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Klaus Butterbach-Bahl Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2014 Division Outstanding Young Scientist Awards:

Nick J. Dunstone Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Tabea K. Lissner Energy, Resources and the Environment (ERE) Division
Roelof Rietbroek Geodesy (G) Division
Rhodri Davies Geodynamics (GD) Division
Robert Hilton Geomorphology (GM) Division
Fubao Sun Hydrological Sciences (HS) Division
Nicolas Eckert Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Christina Plainaki Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Markus Steffens Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Stacia M. Gordon Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS) Division

The EGU Awards Committee received 123 applications for the 2014 awards, with 20% of them nominating female scientists (about 19% of this year’s awardees are female). For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also gives away a number of poster awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2013 OSP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2014, please check the OSP page.


Alberto Montanari
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Bárbara Ferreira
EGU Media and Communications Manager
Munich, Germany
Phone +49-89-2180-6703


Share this