Skip to main content
EGU Award Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists 2021 Mateja Dumbović

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Mateja Dumbović

Mateja Dumbović
Mateja Dumbović

ST Solar-Terrestrial Sciences

The 2021 Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists is awarded to Mateja Dumbović for her innovative contributions to solar and space-weather physics, in particular, regarding the modelling and observational studies of Forbush decreases, CME propagation, and geo-effectivity.

Mateja Dumbović has performed significant scientific studies on different aspects of solar-terrestrial sciences, covering both observational and theoretical approaches. Her most important contributions are on the modelling and observational study of cosmic ray modulations and Forbush decreases caused by coronal mass ejections (CMEs) and co-rotating interacting regions, and on drag-based modelling of the interplanetary CME propagation and on their geo-effectivity. These various important aspects of solar-terrestrial physics have been addressed by Dumbović in thorough and multi-variant approaches, including observational analysis of in-situ and remote sensing data, by theoretical modelling, and by developing tools relevant for space weather forecasting. The most important scientific impact of her research is related to studies of Forbush decreases and utilizing galactic cosmic rays as signatures of CMEs, especially in the context of the CME arrival at Earth and other locations in the heliosphere. Her research led to a better understanding of the variability of Forbush decreases detected in the heliosphere and how to gain insight into the CME evolution based on cosmic ray measurements. In addition to her innovative scientific contributions, Dumbović has a very active community engagement in the field of solar-terrestrial physics as a reviewer and co-organizer of scientific meetings and has a widespread collaborative network. Mateja Dumbović is thus a worthy recipient of an Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists.