Skip to main content

Fridtjof Nansen Medal 1997 Friedrich Schott

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Friedrich Schott

Friedrich Schott
Friedrich Schott

The 1997 Fridtjof Nansen Medal is awarded to Friedrich Schott for his numerous and outstanding contributions to the study of the large-scale circulation of the oceans and for his process-oriented work which has significantly enlarged our knowledge of deep ocean convection.

Friedrich Schott received his BSc in 1961 and his PhD in 1964 from the University of Kiel, Germany. He then worked at the company Plath GmbH on the development of direction finding, before he returned to the Institut für Meereskunde, University of Kiel, where he received his DrSc in 1974 and full professorship in 1987. From 1979 to 1984 he served as associate and later on as full professor at the University of Miami.

Besides his numerous “first author” publications in respected international journals, it is worth mentioning that Friedrich Schott has served on various important Committees, such as Comité Scientifique du Programme National d’Etude de la Dynamique du Climat (PNEDC), Senatskommission für Ozeanographie, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Implementation Panel (CPI) World Ocean Circulation Experiment (WOCE), Scientific Evaluation Panel EC-MAST II, Scientific Evaluation Committee for Programme EC/“Earth Sciences”, EC/MAST-I Programme THETIS (Theoretical and Experimental Tomography of the Sea), CLIVAR Scientific Steering Group, CLIVARD/DecCen Implementation Conference, Organizing Committee World Climate Res. Conference.

Newsletter 63, 31, 1997