EGU Award Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Awards 2015 Maurits Metman

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Maurits Metman

Maurits Metman
Maurits Metman

GD Geodynamics

The 2015 Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Award is awarded to Maurits Metman for the poster/PICO entitled:

The sensivity of geomagnetic reversal frequency to core-mantle boundary heat flux magnitude and heterogeneity. (Metman, M.; de Groot, L.; Thieulot, C.; Biggin, A.; Spakman, W.)

Click here to download the poster/PICO file.

Maurits Metman is a MSc student within the Theoretical Geophysics and Fort Hoofddijk Paleomagnetic Laboratory research groups at Utrecht University; as from October 2015 he will start his PhD studies at the Deep Earth Research Group of the University of Leeds. His main research interest is the core geodynamo, the generation of Earth’s magnetic field and the numerical modelling thereof. More specifically, his research resolves around geodynamo evolution, the control of the mantle on the geodynamo and secular changes therein. The presented poster was part of his MSc thesis, in which he aims to reconstruct the paleomagnetic record of the last 300 Myr in terms reversal frequency, by applying changes in the core-mantle boundary heat flow from mantle convection models.