Skip to main content
EGU Award Ceremony (Credit: EGU/Foto Pfluegl)

Union Service Award 2012 Bruce D. Malamud

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Bruce D. Malamud

Bruce D. Malamud
Bruce D. Malamud

The 2012 Union Service Award is awarded to Bruce D. Malamud in recognition of his innovative and organized service for the Union as Chair of the Programme Committee, and his exceptional dedication as President of the Division on Natural Hazards.

Malamud received a BA in physics from Reed College in 1986 and a PhD in geophysics/stratigraphy from Cornell University in 1998. Since 2000, he has been on the academic staff in the Department of Geography at King’s College London, where he is presently a Reader in Natural and Environmental Hazards.

Malamud spent two years in the USA Peace Corps (1986-1988) as a high-school teacher of chemistry/physics in Niger, West Africa, is a past recipient (1998) of a Fulbright Fellowship to study natural hazards in Argentina, a recipient (2003/4) of a King’s College London Teaching Excellence Award, was awarded a NERC fellowship to spend one year (2004/5) as a visiting researcher at the Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, University of Oxford, served as chief executive editor (2005-09) of the journal Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics, was a fellow (2007) at the Institute of Advanced of Study, Durham University, and distinguished visitor (2008) at the University of Auckland, New Zealand.

Malamud has authorship on over 50 peer-review publications, including first author publications in Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Earth Surface Processes and Landforms, Journal of Geophysical Research, Proceedings of National Academy of Sciences, and Science. Currently there are over 1,200 citations for his publications. In addition, he has been involved as editor on two books, and author on 11 government publications.

Malamud was President of the Natural Hazards Division (2007-11) of the European Geosciences Union (EGU) and Chair of the Programme Committee for the EGU General Assembly 2010 and 2011.