Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal 1997 Brian J. Hoskins

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Brian J. Hoskins

Brian J. Hoskins
Brian J. Hoskins

The 1997 Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal is awarded to Brian J. Hoskins in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the understanding of the dynamics of atmospheric fronts and extratropical cyclones, and for his fundamental work in dynamic meteorology.

Brian Hoskins received his BA and PhD in mathematics from the University of Cambridge, UK, in 1966 and 1970, respectively. He then was reader in atmospheric modelling (1976 – 1981), professor of meteorology (1981 – 1990) and head of the department of meteorology (1990 – present) at the University of Reading, UK.

Brian Hoskins’ recent interest in research is in dynamic meteorology, including storms, extratropical cyclones or monsoons. In this respect he has served as member, chairman or president in a number of commissions, associations and organizations, such as the Academia Europaea, Dynamical Commission of IAMAP, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts, International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS) and WMO/ICSU Committee of world Climate Research Programme.

In 1988, Brian Hoskins was elected Fellow of the Royal Society and received the Carl-Gustav Rossby Research Medal from the American Meteorological Society.

Newsletter 63, 31, 1997