EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces 2020 awards and medals

22 October 2019

The EGU has named the 49 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards. These individuals are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will receive their prizes at the EGU 2020 General Assembly, which will take place in Vienna on 3–8 May. The EGU has also announced the winners of the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Awards corresponding to the 2019 General Assembly.

The following individuals will receive 2020 Union Medals and Awards:

Ingeborg Levin Alfred Wegener Medal
Donald B. Dingwell Arthur Holmes Medal
Pascale Ehrenfreund Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Bojie Fu Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Weian Chao Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Beatriz Sánchez-Cano Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
François Massonnet Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Andreas Hartmann Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Elizabeth Gibney Angela Croome Award
Rhian H. Meara Katia and Maurice Krafft Award

The following individuals will receive 2020 Division Medals:

Harro Schmeling Augustus Love Medal
Raffaele Persico Christiaan Huygens Medal
Agustín Sánchez-Lavega David Bates Medal
Richard J. Greatbatch Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Qiugang Zong Hannes Alfvén Medal
Kim M. Cobb Hans Oeschger Medal
Xavier Sánchez-Vila Henry Darcy Medal
Paul Wessel Ian McHarg Medal
Michael J. Benton Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Amilcare Porporato John Dalton Medal
Julienne C. Stroeve Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal
Valerio Lucarini Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Wenlu Zhu Louis Néel Medal
Valérie Masson-Delmotte Milutin Milankovic Medal
Rixiang Zhu Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Georg Guggenberger Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Claire J. Horwell Plinius Medal
Thomas J. Coulthard Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Holly J. Stein Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
John J. Clague Sergey Soloviev Medal
Mathilde Cannat Stephan Mueller Medal
Willi Freeden Vening Meinesz Medal
Michael J. Prather Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Pierre Friedlingstein Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2020 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Meng Gao Atmospheric Sciences (AS) Division
Caitlin E. Hicks Pries Biogeosciences (BG) Division
Anna E. Hogg Cryospheric Sciences (CR) Division
Estanislao Pujades Energy, Resources and the Environment (ERE) Division
Pilar Lecumberri-Sanchez Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology (GMPV) Division
Karina Wilgan Geodesy (G) Division
Tobias Keller Geodynamics (GD) Division
Georgina Bennett Geomorphology (GM) Division
Vitor Silva Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Ekaterina Didenkulova Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) Division
Frédéric Le Moigne Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
Sebastian Dötterl Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Lauri Holappa Solar-Terrestrial Sciences (ST) Division
Anna Joy Drury Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP) Division
Christoph von Hagke Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS) Division

This year the EGU Awards Committee received 160 eligible nominations, with 34% of them nominating female scientists (about 39% of this year’s awardees are female). These numbers represent an increase from last year, when 31% of nominations and 36% of awards went to female scientists. 2020 is the first year that the EGU is presenting two new honours: the Katia and Maurice Krafft Award for geoscience outreach and engagement as well as the Angela Croome Award, an honour established to recognise journalists working in the Earth, planetary and space sciences. For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of poster and PICO awards on students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These OSPP Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster and PICO presentations and foster students’ excitement to present posters at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2019 OSPP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSPP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2020, please check the OSPP page.

More information

Shaping EU Missions


Chloe Hill
EGU Policy Officer
Munich, Germany

Terri Cook
EGU Head of Media, Communications and Outreach
Munich, Germany


Share this