Skip to main content
The EGU Plinius Medal (Credit: EGU)

EGU news EGU announces its 2021 awards and medals!

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces its 2021 awards and medals!

21 October 2020

The European Geosciences Union (EGU) has named the 51 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards. These individuals are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will be celebrated during the EGU General Assembly 2021, which will be held from 25–30 April.

The following individuals will receive 2021 Union Medals and Awards:

Manfred R. Strecker Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Angela M. Gurnell Alfred Wegener Medal
Roland Pease Angela Croome Award
Lucy Rowland Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Mateja Dumbović Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Carolyn J. Boulton Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Anita L. Ganesan Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Laurent Jolivet Arthur Holmes Medal
Janet G. Luhmann Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Annie Ockelford Katia and Maurice Krafft Award
Julia C. Hargreaves Union Service Award

The following individuals will receive 2021 Division Medals:

Irina M. Artemieva Augustus Love Medal
Malcolm Sambridge Beno Gutenberg Medal
R. Giles Harrison Christiaan Huygens Medal
Richard S. Lampitt Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Sonia I. Seneviratne Hans Oeschger Medal
Berit Arheimer Henry Darcy Medal
Andreas Strasser Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Brian Berkowitz John Dalton Medal
Martyn Tranter Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal
Volker Bothmer Julius Bartels Medal
Bérengère Dubrulle Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Ayako Abe-Ouchi Milutin Milankovic Medal
Kenneth P. Kodama Petrus Peregrinus Medal
Donald L. Sparks Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Giuliano Di Baldassarre Plinius Medal
Joanna E. Bullard Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Urs Schaltegger Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Fausto Guzzetti Sergey Soloviev Medal
R. Dietmar Müller Stephan Mueller Medal
Christopher Jekeli Vening Meinesz Medal
Spyros N. Pandis Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Susan E. Trumbore Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2021 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Franziska A. Lechleitner Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Christine L. Batchelor Cryospheric Sciences (CR) Division
Alice Fremand Earth and Space Science Informatics (ESSI) Division
François X. Passelègue Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP) Division
Giorgia Dalla Santa Energy, Resources and the Environment (ERE) Division
Michael C. Jollands Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology (GMPV) Division
Anna Kłos Geodesy (G) Division
Mark J. Hoggard Geodynamics (GD) Division
Louise J. Slater Geomorphology (GM) Division
Roberto Pierdicca Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems (GI) Division
Matteo Giuliani Hydrological Sciences (HS) Division
Maria Pregnolato Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Niklas Boers Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) Division
Marilena Oltmanns Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
William Dunn Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Eva P. S. Eibl Seismology (SM) Division
Lucia Fuchslueger Soil System Sciences (SSS) Division
Niels J. de Winter Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP) Division

This year the EGU Awards Committee received 232 eligible nominations, with 32% of them nominating female scientists. Approximately 49% of this year’s awardees are female, which represents an increase of 10% from last year.

For more information about the awards above, including application and selection criteria and how to apply, please check the Awards & Medals page on this website.


Thomas Blunier
Chair of the EGU Awards Committee

Terri Cook
EGU Head of Media, Communications and Outreach


Share this