Skip to main content
The EGU Plinius Medal (Credit: EGU)

EGU news EGU announces its 2024 awards and medals!

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces its 2024 awards and medals!

16 November 2023

The European Geosciences Union (EGU) has named the 52 recipients of next year’s Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards. These individuals are honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences. They will be celebrated during the EGU General Assembly 2024, which will be held from 14–19 April.

The following individuals will receive 2024 Union Medals and Awards:

Subimal Ghosh Alexander von Humboldt Medal
Stefan Rahmstorf Alfred Wegener Medal
Gaia Vince Angela Croome Award
Nadia Bloemendaal Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Laura A. Stevens Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Yanhao Lin Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Daniel L. Evans Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Early Career Scientists
Claudio Faccenna Arthur Holmes Medal
Mary Anne Holmes Champion(s) for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award
Veronique Dehant Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
Sinelethu Hashibi Katia and Maurice Krafft Award

The following individuals will receive 2024 Division Medals:

Taras Gerya Augustus Love Medal
Jaroslava Plomerová Beno Gutenberg Medal
Nemesio M. Pérez Christiaan Huygens Medal
Franck Montmessin David Bates Medal
Stephanie Henson Fridtjof Nansen Medal
Sandra Catherine Chapman Hannes Alfvén Medal
Michael Sigl Hans Oeschger Medal
Alberto Guadagnini Henry Darcy Medal
François Robida Ian McHarg Medal
Silvia Frisia Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
Paul D. Bates John Dalton Medal
Gwenn E. Flowers Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal
Annick Pouquet Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Patrick Baud Louis Néel Medal
Peter U. Clark Milutin Milankovic Medal
Jan Willem van Groenigen Philippe Duchaufour Medal
Jacopo Selva Plinius Medal
Christian France-Lanord Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
Kei Hirose Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
Hayley J. Fowler Sergey Soloviev Medal
Yann Klinger Stephan Mueller Medal
Jeffrey T. Freymueller Vening Meinesz Medal
Lucy Carpenter Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
Daniel J. Conley Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The following individuals will receive 2024 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Awards:

Eliane Gomes Alves Biogeosciences (BG) Division
Maria A. A. Rugenstein Climate: Past, Present & Future (CL) Division
Anirudh Prabhu Earth and Space Science Informatics (ESSI) Division
Sarah Incel Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP) Division
Roberto E. Rizzo Energy, Resources and the Environment (ERE) Division
Bramha Dutt Vishwakarma Geodesy (G) Division
Anne Glerum Geodynamics (GD) Division
Fiona J. Clubb Geomorphology (GM) Division
Livia Lantini Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems (GI) Division
Andrea Cominola Hydrological Sciences (HS) Division
Marleen C. de Ruiter Natural Hazards (NH) Division
Simone Benella Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) Division
Alessandro Silvano Ocean Sciences (OS) Division
Lucia Mandon Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS) Division
Stephen P. Hicks Seismology (SM) Division
Erika Palmerio Solar-Terrestrial Sciences (ST) Division
Miguel Ángel Maté González Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP) Division

This year the EGU Awards Committee received 218 eligible nominations, approximately 38% of which were for female nominees, although it must be noted that the gender of nominees is only assumed and not confirmed. 42% of this year’s awardees are female, with 2% preferring not to disclose their gender identity. For more information about the awards above, including a full list of the various award panel judges, application and selection criteria and how to apply, please visit the Awards & Medals page.

In addition to the Union and Division Awards and Medals, the EGU also bestows a number of awards to students taking part in its annual General Assembly. These Outstanding Student and PhD candidate Presentation (OSPP) Awards aim to further improve the overall quality of poster and PICO presentations and foster students’ excitement to present their research at a large scientific conference. The list of recipients of the 2023 OSPP Awards is now available online. For more information about the OSPP awards, including application criteria and how to apply in 2024, please visit the OSPP page.