European Geosciences Union

EGU logo

Election of Council Members

General Information

According to the Constitution of the Union (Article 4.1), the overall management and control of the Union shall rest in the hands of an elected Council, consisting of a President, a Vice-President, a General Secretary, a Treasurer, and the Presidents of each Division. According to the By-laws of the Union, the names of candidates for Presidents of Divisions shall be decided at the relevant Business Meetings of the Divisions, and for the other officers of Council at the relevant Plenary Session, respectively, and fed to the Nominations Committee. Members of the Union not being able to attend the relevant Business Meetings or Plenary Session may propose names of candidates directly to the Chairpersons of the Business Meetings of the Divisions or of the Plenary Session respectively, by 3 weeks prior to the relevant meetings. These meetings are held, in general, at the annual General Assemblies of the Union.


The Chairman of the Nominations Committee must then ascertain the willingness of each candidate to stand for election and present the proposed slates to the Council for its approval. The relevant Council Meeting is normally held in October of the year of the General Assembly. After approval, the Nomination Committee prepares short summaries of max. one page about each candidate, respectively. These summaries together with the ballot papers, listing all candidates, and with provision for additional write-in candidates, are distributed to all members of the Union by the EGU Office. Members may then vote for one candidate only for each vacancy, but with the proviso that each Member may vote for only one President of a Division, however many Presidential vacancies occur. Completed ballot papers shall be returned to the EGU Office. The names of the elected candidates are announced at the Council meeting and the Plenary Session of the Union held during the next General Assembly, and in the Newsletter of the Union.

Terms of Members of Council

The President shall be elected to serve for a term of 2 years. He/she shall be elected one year before the beginning of the term of office, and in that period serve as President-Elect, and shall continue as a member of the Council for one year after the term of office, as Past-President. The President-Elect or the Past-President, respectively, is the Vice-President of the Union. The President shall not be eligible for immediate re-election. The General Secretary and the Treasurer shall be elected to serve for a term of two years, and shall be eligible for immediate re-election. The President of each Division shall be elected for a term of two years, and shall be eligible for immediate re-election once only. The Executive Secretary shall be appointed by the Council to serve for a term of five years, and shall be indefinitely eligible for re-appointment for subsequent terms. He/she shall be an ex-officio member of the Council and of all Committees (if not already specified).

[ Back ]