Skip to main content
Science-policy collaboration (Credit: Chloe Hill/EGU)

EGU news EGU announces new Science for Policy Working Group!

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces new Science for Policy Working Group!

27 January 2021

In the 2019 EGU membership survey, respondents ranked science for policy activities as one of the top 4 services the Union provides. To continue to develop EGU’s policy-related activities, the EGU Council has established a new Science for Policy Working Group to create new science for policy opportunities and highlight upcoming EU-wide policies of relevance to EGU members.

“The Earth, planetary, and space science community plays a key role in many different policy areas, in which their research can help policymakers more accurately assess the benefits and potential consequences of different policy pathways,” says EGU Policy Officer Chloe Hill, who will chair the new group. “The experts who have graciously agreed to participate will help advise EGU on how to promote greater collaboration between the geoscientific community and policymakers, highlight policy-relevant outputs from EGU scientists, and support evidence-informed policy in Europe.”

The working group, which will meet approximately once per month, currently includes seven members:

  • Alessandro Allegra: Policy Officer, Chief Scientific Advisers (Scientific Advice Mechanism), Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, European Commission
  • Emmanuel Salmon: Head of Strategy & International Cooperation, Integrated Carbon Observation System (ICOS)
  • Ilias Grampas: EU Affairs Manager, Secretariat of the European Parliament Intergroup on Climate Change, Biodiversity and Sustainable Development
  • Lene Topp: Project Officer, Knowledge Management for Policy Training and Network Unit, European Commission Joint Research Centre
  • Maria-Helena Ramos: Research scientist in hydrology and hydrometeorology at the National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE) and EGU Hydrological Sciences Division President
  • Noel Baker: Project Manager, Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy
  • Chloe Hill, EGU Policy Officer and Working Group Chair

You can learn more about the new working group and its upcoming activities on the EGU Science for Policy Working Group webpage If you have any questions or comments about this group, please contact Chloe Hill at