Skip to main content
biodiversity task force.jpg (Credit: European Union 2018 - European Parliament)

EGU news EGU announces the Biodiversity Task Force members!

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

EGU announces the Biodiversity Task Force members!

24 February 2022

In October 2021, Biodiversity was selected by the EGU Science for Policy Working Group and approved by the EGU Council as the 2022-2024 Policy Priority Area due to its relevance to many EGU divisions, current and future policy relevance, and the need for information and continued scientific support in the creation of new European legislation and establishment of new European and national initiatives. Earlier this month, the EGU selected the members of the Biodiversity Task Force that will coordinate EGU’s biodiversity-related activities, support the transfer of biodiversity-related knowledge to policymakers, and promote evidence-informed policy!

Task Force candidates were chosen through both an application and interview process from a pool of very strong applicants. As a result, the Task Force includes a diverse range of experts from different EGU divisions. As well as scientific knowledge, the group has a varied skill set with experts in communication, photojournalism, communication, outreach, and policy. Many members within the group are also experienced in bridging the gap between different public and academic sectors and research disciplines.


  • Bikem Ekberzade: PhD candidate for Marine and Climate Sciences at Eurasian Institute for Earth System Sciences at Istanbul Technical University in Turkey. Author, radio producer, and photojournalist.
  • Rita Carrasco: Assistant Researcher in wetlands biogeormorphology at the University of Algarve in Portugal.
  • Maria Polo: Professor in hydraulic engineering and Scientific Head of the Andalusian Institute for Earth System Research at the University of Cordoba in Spain.
  • Viktor Bruckman: Assistant to Chair for the Commission for Geosciences, Austrian Academy of Sciences. Lecturer and Student Adviser at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Austria.
  • Adriano Sofo: Associate Professor in Agricultural Chemistry and Plant Biology at the University of Basilicata in Italy.
  • Adam Izdebski: Independent Research Group Leader at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany, and Associate Professor at the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland.
  • Felicia Akinyemi: Marie-Curie Research Fellow at the Land System and Sustainable Land Management Unit, Institute of Geography, University of Bern, Switzerland.
  • Annegret Larsen: Assistant Professor in Soil Geography and Landscape Research, Wageningen University in the Netherlands.

The activities undertaken by the EGU’s Biodiversity Task Force will be driven by its members but could include: answering European Commission Consultations, joining a relevant European Commission Expert Group, participating in and speaking at biodiversity-relevant policy events, supporting other biodiversity groups and stakeholders by providing scientific information, and highlighting specific areas that require scientific input to the EGU community through the publication of a short document or factsheet.

Biodiversity is a broad theme and decisions will need to be made by the Task Force about the areas that will be focused on. These decisions will consider upcoming policies and legislation, the needs of policymakers, and the expertise of individual members within the group. The Task Force members will be meeting for the first time in March to start outlining their goals and future actions.

You can find updates on the Task Force’s activities via the EGU’s Science for Policy Newsletter, EGU’s GeoPolicy blog, and on the policy section of the EGU website!